The Hitchhiker's guide to the Galaxy (1981) (1981)

Arthur Dent is a mild mannered English man who's house is about to be demolished to make way for a bypass. He has no idea that his good friend, Ford Prefect is actually from a small planet somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse, and a writer for the universe's most popular book "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy." Together, they manage to escape Earth's destruction and face off against the horrid Vorgons. Aboard a stolen ship along with the likes of the hip Zaphod Beeblebrox, Earth woman Trillion and Marvin the manic-depressive robot, the crew sets off on hysterical adventures to discover a mythical planet (Magrathia) and the mysteries of the meaning of "Life, the Universe and Everything".

This was actually a six part TV series of the original BBC Radio series and never appeared as a motion picture until 2007 after the author (Douglas Adams) had died from a heart attack whilst attempting to set up the movie in Hollywood (he had already spent over ten years trying to do this). The following six books of the "Trilogy in seven parts" have never made it to either the TV or the Big Screen. The entire series of books have a huge cult following around the World.

Peter Jones ---- The Book (voice)
Simon Jones ---- Arthur Dent
David Dixon ---- Ford Prefect
Mark Wing-Davey ---- Zaphod Beeblebrox the first
Sandra Dickinson ---- Trillion (Tricia McMillan)
Joe Melia ---- Mr. Prosser
Martin Benson ---- Vogon Captain
Sandra Dickinson --- Trillian
Mark Wing-Davey ---- Zaphod Beeblebrox
David Learner ---- Marvin