Transformers Zone
Release: July 21, 1990

OVA movie is a follow-up to transformers victory. Transformers: Zone is a one-shot OVA exclusive to Japan in the fictional Transformers universe. Originally intended to be a full TV series, Transformers: Zone was forced to become direct-length direct-to-video (OVA) due to less than expected toy sales. The series was canceled after just one episode at 25 minutes. It is considered the last TF Generation 1 animated project. Following on from Victory, the mysterious three-faced insectoid being, Violenjiger dispatches the nine "Great Decepticon Generals" - Devastator, Menasor, Bruticus, Trypticon, Predaking, Abominus, King Poseidon, Overlord and BlackZarak - to acquire "Zone Energy," destroying the planet Feminia to obtain the world's store. Caught in the destruction of the planet, Star Saber is rescued by Dai Atlas, who then repels an attack by the Decepticons, and is appointed the new Autobot commander at the conclusion of the episode. The cast of Zone is heavily comprised of Micromasters, who also made up much of the toyline. Dai Atlas is a "Powered Master," so named for his motorized gimmick, as is his combining partner Sonic Bomber - the toyline also featured another partner for them, Roadfire, who was not in the episode. The solitary Decepticons in the toyline were the Race Car Patrol, and Metrotitan, a redeco of the Autobot city Metroplex, neither of whom appeared in animated form. The missing characters did go on to appear in the pages of the Japanese publication, TV Magazine otherwise known as "Telemaga". This monthly magazine had always included Transformers manga story pages and splash illustrations with explanatory text. No direct manga was ever released for Zone. These story pages were used to provide supporting fiction for the remaining two years worth of toylines - 1991's Battlestars: Return of Convoy and 1992's Operation: Combination.

An unhandled error has occurred. Reload Dismiss